Penguin Tourism & Travel
Situated in the North West region of Tasmania, Penguin is some 283kms from Hobart, the capital city of Tasmania, 128kms from Launceston and 29kms from Devonport. The delightful seaside town, home to the many charming little penguins that grace the shores, consists of many great fishing and swimming beaches, amusing and much-photographed iconic penguin sites, and welcoming cafes and restaurants along the shoreline. In the municipality of the Central Coast Council, Penguin has a population of 2,943 souls.
The 3-metre tall, Big Penguin is a popular attraction as well as the most photographed site on the beach. During the evening, little penguins are often seen gracing the shoreline.
The Dutch Windmill, given to Penguin during Australias bicentenary by the Dutch community to commemorate the Dutch explorers and settlers, also includes a beautiful tulip display.
Situated in the Penguin Township, the reef on Johnsons Beach is exposed during low tide for a beautiful sight. Penguin Beach boasts a sandy shoreline and rocky cliffs and Turners Beach, 20kms east of Penguin is great for mullet and salmon fishing. The many beautiful beaches around nearby Ulverstone also attract many visitors to the region.
Penguin Restaurants & Cafes
Many seaside cafes and restaurants are situated along Main Rd. The scrumptious Chocolate Lovers chocolate shop, also situated on Main Rd, produces quality Australian and European chocolates.
The weekly Penguin Market draws hundreds of visitors from around the state. Tasmanias largest undercover market contains more than 200 stalls, ranging from fine food and wine, to woodcraft and live music.
Penguin - Near by
The nearby Dial Range Walks offers many great walking tracks including one up towards the summit of Mt Montgomery for spectacular views. For keen hikers, the 80km Penguin Cradle Trail heads inland towards the iconic Cradle Mountain. A mere 20-minute drive away, the popular, vibrant port of Devonport attracts thousands of visitors every year.
Penguin was first settled in 1861 as a timber town and proclaimed on 25 October 1875. The significant port shipped large quantities of Timber to Victoria, where the 1850s gold rushes were taking place. The town was named for the Fairy Penguin rookeries often found along the coast.