Discover Australia Holidays

Need Help?

Customer Support Centre

Over 1 Million
Holidays Booked

Top Deals Path Pagelets Index Top Deals Settings
Return Flights + 2 Nights

Over 1 Million Holidays Sold

No Credit Card or Booking Fees


New South Wales Tourism Guide & Travel Information

Sydney New South Wales

Sydney Beaches

Blue Mountains NSW

The State of NSW

The Australian state of New South Wales as is made up of the following tourist regions: Sydney, Sydney Surrounds, Central Coast, North Coast, South Coast, Snowy Mountains, Heart of Country, Outback, Lord Howe Island.

Sydney Australia

Sydney is Australia's oldest and largest city with a lively and cosmopolitan blend of people, the 'Sydney must see' list includes: Sydney Harbour, Balmain, The Rocks, Darling Harbour, Leichhardt, Glebe, Chinatown, Sydney CBD, Kings Cross, Double Bay, Darlinghurst, Paddington, Moore Park, Newtown.

Near Sydney

The area surrounding Sydney features: Upper Hunter, Barrington Tops, Port Stephens, Forster and Surrounds, Hunter Valley, Lake Macquarie and Surrounds, Newcastle, Central Coast, Hawkesbury Valley, Hawkesbury River, Blue Mountains, Wollongong and Surrounds, Kiama and Shellharbour Surrounds, Southern Highlands.

NSW North Coast

North Coast is famous for Aussie surf culture, World Heritage listed national parks, amazing food and fine wine. Pacific coast includes: The Tweed, Ballina, Byron Bay, Lismore, Grafton, Coffs Coast, Coffs Harbour, Port Macquarie, Kempsey, Taree, Barrington Tops, Port Stephens, Forster, Newcastle, Hunter Valley wineries, Lake Macquarie, Central Coast.

NSW South Coast

South Coast is south from Sydney: Wollongong, Kiama, Shellharbour, Jervis Bay, Shoalhaven, Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla Surrounds, Bega, Sapphire Coast

The Snowy Mountains

Snowy Mountains is more than great skiing: Tumut, Tumbarumba, Jindabyne, Cooma, Kosciuszko National Park, Bombala.

The Heartlands

Heart of Country is west of the Great Dividing Range to Outback New South Wales, from the Murray River north to the Queensland border: Moree, Narrabri, Glen Innes, Inverell, Armidale, Tamworth, Upper Hunter, Warrumbungle, Dubbo, Mudgee, Bathurst, Orange, Parkes, Cowra, Young, Goulburn, Queanbeyan, Yass, Canberra, Albury, Wagga Wagga, Griffith, Deniliquin, Balranald, Wentworth.

Outback New South Wales

Outback NSW features awe-inspiring landscapes, extraordinary historical tales and local characters all beneath the bright blue skies: Corner Country, Broken Hill, Bourke, Brewarrina, Lightning Ridge, White Cliffs, Cobar, Wentworth, Balranald.

NSW Quick Facts

New South Wales has a population of 6,774,200 people, it occupies a land area of 800,628 square Km. The New South Wales (NSW) coastline is 2,007 km long. The longest NSW river is the Darling River, the tallest NSW mountain is Mt Kosciusko (at 2,228m). The hottest place in NSW is Bourke (summer average around 36 degrees C).

The favoured beer drunk by the locals is Tooheys.

Nicole Kidman came from New South Wales.

The famous films Mad Max II and The Adventures of Priscilla Queen of the Desert were filmed in New South Wales.

Canberra, the national Australia capital, is completely contained within the boarders of the state of New South Wales, but is not part of NSW. It is in the tiny province of Australian Capital Territory.

Captain Cook came ashore at Sydney's Botany Bay in 1770. The first convicts arrived from the UK in 1788.

The remote NSW outback mining town of Broken Hill was the birth-place of mining giant BHP-Billiton in 1885 and gave the company its name: Broken Hill Proprietary Company.

The Sydney Harbour Bridge was completed in 1932.

The Sydney Opera House was compiled in 1973.

Sydney hosted the Olympic Games in 2000.